Borrowing and Circulation Policy
- Individuals residing in San Luis Obispo County who make a two-hundred dollar ($200) one-time cash deposite.
- Active members of the California State Bar who reside or maintain an office in San Luis Obispo County.
- Active members of the California State Bar who reside or maintain an office outside of San Luis Obispo County and who are appearing as counsel in a case filed in San Luis Obispo Superior Court. Judicial permission may be required. Circulation privileges are terminated upon conclusion of litigation.
- Active members of an out-of-state bar who are appearing as counsel pro hac vice in a case filed in San Luis Obispo Superior Court. Circulation privileges are terminated upon conclusion of litigation.
- Any sitting or retired judge residing in San Luis Obispo County serving in a judicial capacity, whether public or private.
- Patrons who wish a library card will need to read, agree with, and sign the Borrower Registration form before a library card will be issued.
- The library shall issue a non-transferable library card to each borrower.
- Library cards will be held by the Library unless requested otherwise.
- All items may be checked out for a period of seven (7) days at any time. Items are due back fifteen minutes before closing on their due date.
- Library materials checked out during business hours will contain pocket cards reminding patrons of the due date. Please note that it is the patron's ultimate responsibility to return items in accordance with our policy.
- Materials checked out after-hours MUST be noted in the "binder" in front of the exit (there are security cameras after-hours).
- A limit of five (5) titles per borrower may be checked out at any one time.
- Any materials which normally circulates may be withdrawn from circulation at the discrepency of the library director. These materials include, but are not limited to, items not readily replaceable or fragile or out of print.
- The library has authority to recall any item from circulation at any time.
- Each MCLE audio title carries a five dollar ($5) per week borrower's fee, payable at the time of checkout.
- Fines for materials accrue at the rate of one dollar ($1) per item per calendar day. These fines begin the day following the due date.
- All fines are to be paid when the material is returned. Payments may be made by check or cash.
- If material is dropped off without payment the library will invoice the borrower weekly. A five dollar ($5) processing fine will be applied to each invoice.
- Borrowing privileges will be suspended if fines accrue beyond fifteen dollars ($15) and will remain so until the outstanding balance is paid. The library will issue a written notice to the borrower indicating such a suspension. A five dollar ($5) processing fine will be applied to each notice.
- All items may be renewed one time only.
- Requests for renewal must be received by 10:00 AM to avoid fines.
- If circumstances permit, the library will make courtesy calls before 10:00 AM to remind patrons that their items are due.
Lost or Damaged Items
- Materials shall be deemed lost if the overdue period exceeds thirty (30) days.
- Materials substantially damaged or defaced shall be deemed lost if they cannot be suitably repaired.
- All borrowers shall be charged for the replacement costs of lost materials. Applicable repair costs and processing charges are set forth in the Fines and Replacement Charges Schedule available at the library.
- A collection agency may be employed to settle delinquent accounts.
Suspension and Terminations
- Borrowig privilges shall cease when a borrower no longer qualifies under the definitions contained herein.
- A borrower who flagrantly or persistently violates the borrowing rules shall have borrowing privileges suspended or terminated by the Board of Law Library Trustees.
- A registered borrower who has deposited cash and wishes to terminate borrowing privileges will be reimbursed upon written request. Please allow the library thirty (30) days to process each refund request.